Pakistan & India to contest the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final


Pakistan & India will face off in the final of the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup at Spotless Stadium on Sunday 7 January 2018 (3.45pm). For the third year running, Pakistan & India will grace Spotless Stadium in the decider of the multicultural cricket competition. Stars XI (Pakistan) and Malwa (India) made their way through the Community Rounds and progressed through the semifinals event, which was held at Blacktown International Sports Park in November. The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup is into its fifth year and the competition continues to provide strong engagement with the South Asian community, with over 800 participants involved in this year’s event. Michael Minassian, MoneyGram’s Head of Australia, Indonesia & Oceania, expressed his excitement about the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final, “The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup is a community program. MoneyGram is proud to be supporting once again. It has been great to see the participation in the tournament grow this year and hopefully this trend continues for years to come.”

mgAfter winning last season’s competition, Pakistan will be hoping to repeat their success. The game will be played prior to the KFC Big Bash League fixture between Sydney Thunder and the Adelaide Strikers on Sunday 7 January 2018. Sydney Thunder General Manager, Lee Germon, was excited with the expansion of the competition this year, “We were pleased to see the competition grow this year, to include a Women’s event and regional competition. We also have the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup All Stars competing in various fixtures over the summer”. The MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup All Stars are playing against the Kenya Under-19 cricket team on 4 January 2018 at Bruce Purser Reserve, Rouse Hill, which will serve as a warm-up game for the Kenyan side, who are en route to the Under-19 Cricket World Cup in New Zealand. Tickets are required to watch the MoneyGram Thunder Nation Cup Final, which will include entry to the Sydney Thunder vs. Adelaide Strikers game (7.10pm).


Comments are closed.